sub-fonds LSBU/1 - Governance Records

Identity area

Reference code



Governance Records


  • 1890-present (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

99 boxes

Context area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The first meeting of the Governing Body was held on 23 October 1891 at the offices of the London School Board. It was originally made up of 12 members:

5 members nominated by the Committee of the South London Polytechnic Institutes;
3 members nominated by the Central Governing Body of the City Parochial Foundation;
2 members nominated by the London County Council;
2 members nominated by the School Board of London.

The Chair of the first meeting was Sir Philip Magnus. The Chair was shared between Sir Philip Magnus, Evan Spicer and Edric Bayley until Edric Bayley was chosen as the permanent Chair at the meeting of 18 February 1892.

At its meeting of 31 March 1892 the Governing Body appointed three committees of seven members each. A Finance Committee, Educational Committee and Recreational Committee. The Educational and Recreation Committee sat together as the General Purposes Committee. The General Purposes Committee advised on the classes to be provided and the teaching staff.

With the formation of the Polytechnic of the South Bank a Council of Governors was created, whose first meeting was held on 24 September 1970, with Harold Shearman as Chairman. The last meeting of the Governing Body of the Borough Polytechnic was held on 12 November 1970.

This became the Board of Governors in 1989.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Contains records relating to Governance in the institution, comprising:

LSBU/1/1 Memorandum and Articles of Association, 1970-1994;

LSBU/1/2 Board of Governors, 1891-2006;

LSBU/1/3 C.T. Millis' Reports for Meetings of the Governing Body and Educational Committee, 1896-1902;

LSBU/1/4 Correspondence regarding the Polytechnic's redesignation as a University, 1991-1992;

LSBU/1/5 Honorary Fellows Committee, 1986-2001;

LSBU/1/6 Board of Directors, 1973-2006 ;

LSBU/1/7 Charitable Funds Committee, 1985-2012;

LSBU/1/8 House Committee, 1901-1964;

LSBU/1/9 Schemes of Government, 1890-c1970;

LSBU/1/10 Policy and Resources Committee, 1989-2005;

LSBU/1/11 Policy Committee, 1981-1984;

LSBU/1/12 Committee for Student Affairs, 1971-2006;

LSBU/1/13 Governors Manuals, 1972-1974, 2008;

LSBU/1/14 Corporate Plans, 1986-2009

LSBU/1/15 Corporate Planning and Management Committee, 1988-1994;

LSBU/1/16 Management Structures, 1973-1993;

LSBU/1/17 Circulate Executive Team Briefing Notes, 2007-2009;

LSBU/1/18 Papers relating to the Coat of Arms, 1969-1992;

LSBU/1/19 Interim Group of Council, 1988-1989;

LSBU/1/20 Governmental Working Party of the Governing Bodies of the Borough Polytechnic, the Brixton School of Building, the City of Westminster College and National College for Heating, Ventilating, Refrigeration and Fan Engineering, 1967-1970;

LSBU/1/21 Formation Committee, 1970;

LSBU/1/22 Audit Committee, 2000-2006;

LSBU/1/23 Appointments Committee, 1991-2006;

LSBU/1/24 Human Resources Commitee, 2000-2002.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




      Accession area