London South Bank

University

Minutes of the Senior Postholders Remuneration Committee

Wednesday 18 December 2013 at 5.15pm – 1B07, Technopark

Present: Professor Martin Earwicker – Vice Chancellor

Katie Boyce – Director of Human Resources

Joined Meeting by Conference call: Diana Parker (Chair)

David Longbottom
Sarah Mullally

1. Apologies

Anne Montgomery

2. Terms of Reference of the Committee

These were approved.

3. Minutes of the Meeting held on 5 December 2012

The minutes were agreed.

4. Matters arising from the minutes of the last meeting not on the agenda

There were no matters arising.

5. Assessment of Senior Post holders Pay Award for the period 1 August 2013 to 31 July 2014

In line with the pay award for all other staff this was agreed as 1%. This provides salaries as follows:

Professor Martin Earwicker: £195,177.00

Plus pension replacement supplement increased to £27, 410.00

Bev Jullien: £154,086.00

Dr Phil Cardew: £122.412.00

Richard Flatman: £126,465.00

• James Stevenson: £87,751.00

6. Assessment of Senior Postholders bonuses for the financial year 1 August 2012 to 31 July 2013 and proposed objectives for the financial year 1 August 2013 to 31 July 2014

The Committee considered all of the information in paper RC13.04 produced by the Vice Chancellor. The decision in relation to each of the Senior Postholders was as follows:

London South Bank

University

Richard Flatman – Bonus for 2012/2013

The Committee noted the achievements described in the Vice Chancellor's paper and awarded Richard Flatman 8% out of a possible 10% which gives a bonus payment as follows:

8% bonus payment: £10,017.00

Richard Flatman – Objectives for 2013/2014

The Committee noted the objectives set by the Vice Chancellor and also noted that they had yet to be agreed by the Vice Chancellor Designate, Professor David Phoenix.

➤ Bev Jullien – Bonus for 2012/2013

The Committee noted the achievements described in the Vice Chancellor's paper and awarded Bev Jullien 7% out of a possible 10% which gives a bonus payment as follows:

7% bonus payment: £10,679.00

➤ Bev Jullien – Objectives for 2013/2014

The Committee noted the objectives set by the Vice Chancellor and also noted that they had yet to be agreed by the Vice Chancellor Designate, Professor David Phoenix.

Professor Phil Cardew – Bonus 2012/2013

The Committee noted the achievements described in the Vice Chancellor's paper and awarded Professor Cardew 7% out of a possible 10% which gives a bonus payment as follows:

7% bonus payment: £8,484.00

Dr Phil Cardew – Objectives for 2013/2014

The Committee noted the objectives set by the Vice Chancellor and also noted that they had yet to be agreed by the Vice Chancellor Designate, Professor David Phoenix.

> James Stevenson - Bonus 2012/2013

The Committee noted the achievements described in the Vice Chancellor's paper and awarded Professor Cardew 7% out of a possible 10% which gives a bonus payment as follows:

7% bonus payment: £6,081.00

London South Bank

University

James Stevenson – Objectives for 2013/2014

The Committee noted the objectives set by the Vice Chancellor and also noted that they had yet to be agreed by the Vice Chancellor Designate, Professor David Phoenix.

➤ Professor Martin Earwicker – Bonus for 2012/2013

The Vice Chancellor left the meeting at this point. The Committee noted Martin Earwicker's assessment of performance against objectives. The Committee decided to award 7% out of a possible 10%. This converts to a payment as follows:

7% bonus payment: £13,527.00

7. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

8. Date and Time of Next Meeting

To be confirmed.

