London South Bank

University

Meeting of the Appointments Committee

4pm (immediately prior to the Board meeting) on Thursday, 18 July 2013 in 1B27, Technopark, London Road, London SE1

Agenda

No.	Item	Paper No.	Presenter		
1.	Welcome and apologies		Chair		
2.	Declarations of Interest		Chair		
3.	Minutes of the Appointments Committee meeting of 12 March 2013 (to approve)		Chair		
4.	Re-appointment of Steve Balmont and Andrew Owen as independent governors (to approve)	AP.03(13)	Chair		
5.	Any other business		Chair		
6.	Date of next meeting – to be arranged		Chair		
Members: David Longbottom (Chairman), Dame Sarah Mullally (Vice Chair), Steve					

Members: David Longbottom (Chairman), Dame Sarah Mullally (Vice Chair), Steve

Balmont, Douglas Denham St Pinnock, Ken Dytor, Prof Hilary McCallion, Anne Montgomery, Dr Mee Ling Ng, Andrew Owen, Diana Parker and

James Smith.

With: University Secretary and Governance Officer.

London South Bank

University

		PAPER NO: AP.03(13)	
Committee:	Appointments Committee		
Date:	18 July 2013		
Subject:	Re-appointment of Steve Balmont and Andrew Owen as independent governors		
Author:	James Stevenson, University Secretary		
Board sponsor:	David Longbottom, Chairman of the Nomination Committee		
Recommendation by Nomination Committee:	To re-appoint Steve Balmont and Andrew Owen as Independent Governors		
Matter previously considered by:	Nomination Committee	10 April 2013	
Further approval required?	N/A	N/A	
Communications – who should be made aware of the decision?	All Governors, Executive and members of staff		

Executive summary

Both Steve Balmont's and Andrew Owen's first terms as Independent Governors expire in July 2013 (Steve Balmont was appointed as an Independent Governor on 12 March 2009. Andrew Owen was appointed as an Independent Governor on 25 June 2009). Under the Articles they are eligible for re-appointment as Independent Governors for a second term of four years to July 2017. Both have expressed their desire to continue for a further four years.

The Nomination Committee recommend their re-appointment to the Appointments Committee.

The committee is requested to re-appoint Steve Balmont and Andrew Owen as Independent Governors for a second term of office of four years commencing 1 August 2013.