## **London South Bank**

University

Minutes of a Meeting of the Nomination Committee held at 2pm on Friday, 27<sup>th</sup> April 2012 in 1b07, Technopark.

Present: Martin Earwicker (Vice Chancellor)

James Stevenson

By conference call: David Longbottom (Chairman)

Anne Montgomery (Con Sarah Mullally (Vice Chair)

#### Welcome and apologies

1. None

#### **Composition of the Board**

After a brief discussion, concerns were raised about the composition of the Board and how the imbalance could be dealt with. Suggestions were made to make contact with female and BME professional networks and to ensure that for the next appointment this was taken into consideration.

### **Role Description**

3. Role description was noted and in particular the time commitment in being a governor.

### **Nomination of Independent Governor**

4. Having regard to the current composition of the Board of Governors and after due consideration, the Committee agreed to recommend to the Appointments Committee that James Smith be appointed to serve a term of four years to 31st July 2015. The Committee's recommendation would be made to a meeting of the Appointments Committee to be held on 1 May 2012.

#### **Committee Terms of Reference**

5. Revised Terms of reference was noted, taking account of the committee's role in relation to members of the Court and appointments to subsidiaries.

# **London South Bank**

# University

## **University Court members**

- 6. Additional membership of the University Court was discussed and the following appointed:
  - David Carrington CONSULTANT AND FORMER GOVERNOR
  - Freddie Cohen former Jersey senator
  - Mike Jatania CEO of Lornamead
  - David Cannadine historian

Confirmed as a true record:

- Christopher McLaren FORMER CHANCELLOR AND FORMER CHAIR OF THE BOARD
- John McNamara former CEO of the UK Skills Councils

There being no further business, the Chairman closed the meeting.

 . (Chairman)	