London South Bank

University

Minutes of a Meeting of the Appointments Committee held at 3pm on 20 March 2014 in Room 1B27, Technopark, London Road, London SE1

Present

David Longbottom
Steve Balmont
Douglas Denham St Pinnock
Prof Hilary McCallion
Anne Montgomery
Dame Sarah Mullally
Mee Ling Ng
Andrew Owen

Chairman

In attendance

James Smith

James Stevenson University Secretary and Clerk to the Board of

Governors

Welcome and Apologies

- 1. The Chairman opened the meeting and noted that it was quorate.
- 2. Apologies had been received from Ken Dytor and Diana Parker.

Declarations of Interest

3. No governor declared an interest on any items on the agenda.

Minutes of the previous meeting

4. The minutes of the meeting of 18 July 2013 were approved.

Appointment of Prof Neil Gorman as Independent Governor

- 5. The committee considered the recommendation of the Nomination Committee to appoint Prof Neil Gorman (paper **AP.01(14)**) as an Independent Governor of the University.
- 6. The Nomination Committee considered that Prof Gorman's skills and experience complemented those of the Board. It was noted that as retiring Vice Chancellor of Nottingham Trent University he would bring considerable knowledge and experience of the higher education sector to the Board.

7.	The committee approved the appointment of Prof Neil Gorman as an Independent Governor for an initial term of four years to 31 July 2018 with immediate effect.
There being no further business, the Chairman closed the meeting.	
Confirmed as a true record:	
Chair	man