London South Bank

University

Minutes of a Meeting of the Appointments Committee held at 4pm on 12 March 2013 in Room 1B16, Technopark, London Road, London SE1

Present

David Longbottom Chairman

Steve Balmont (via conference call)

Douglas Denham St Pinnock (via conference call)

Ken Dytor

Sir David Melville Anne Montgomery

Rev Dame Sarah Mullally

Andrew Owen (via conference call)

Diana Parker

James Smith (via conference call)

In attendance

James Stevenson University Secretary and Clerk to the Board of

Governors

Apologies

1. Apologies had been received from Anne Montgomery.

Declarations of Interest

2. No governor declared an interest on any items on the agenda.

Minutes of the previous meeting

3. The minutes of the meeting of 1 May 2012 were approved.

Minutes of the meeting of the Nomination Committee

4. The committee noted the minutes of the meeting of the Nomination Committee of 20 December 2012.

Appointment of Mee Ling Ng and Hilary McCallion as Independent Governors

5. The committee considered the recommendation of the Nomination Committee to appoint Mee Ling Ng (paper AP.01(13)) and Hilary McCallion (paper AP.02(13)) as Independent Governors of the University.

- 6. The Nomination Committee considered that both candidate's skills and experience complemented those of the Board. It was noted that they had considerable board experience and was enthusiastic about the University and its values.
- 7. The committee approved the appointment of Mee Ling Ng and Hilary McCallion as independent governors for an initial term of four years to 31 July 2017 with immediate effect.

There being no further business, the Chairman closed the meeting.
Confirmed as a true record:
Chairman