



Board of Governors and Academic Board - Strategy Day 9.45am for 10.00am to 4pm, Thursday 29 September 2016 Lilac Room, Avonmouth House

PROGRAMME

Theme - Sustainability of the University

No.	Item	Pages	Presenter
	Tea and Coffee		
9.45	Welcome and Achievements		JC
10.00	Financial scenarios		RF
11.05	Tea and coffee		
11.15	Retention and completion		PB, SW
12.15	PresentationDiscussionLunch		
13.00	Growth plans		PB
14.30	PresentationDiscussionTea		
14.45	Quality assessment and TEF2		SW
15.15	Conclusions on the sustainability of the current university plan		JC
16.00	Close		

No. Item Pages Presenter

Attendance

From 9.45am, all day:

Board of Governors:

Jerry Cope (Chairman), Andrew Owen (Vice Chair), Temi Ahmadu (SU President), Steve Balmont, Shachi Blakemore, Michael Cutbill, Carol Hui, Douglas Denham St Pinnock, Neil Gorman, Hilary McCallion, Kevin McGrath, Mee Ling Ng, Jenny Owen, Tony Roberts and Calvin Usuanlele (Student Governor).

Members of the Executive:

Pat Bailey, Deputy Vice Chancellor

Mandy Eddolls, Executive Director of Organisational Development and Human Resources

Richard Flatman, Chief Finance Officer

lan Mehrtens, Chief Operating Officer

James Stevenson, University Secretary & Clerk to the Board of Governors

Shân Wareing, Pro Vice Chancellor, Education and Student Experience

Additional members of the Academic Board:

Stephen Barber, Reader and Programme Manager, Business

Craig Barker, Dean of Law & Social Science

Janet Bohrer, Director of Academic Quality Development Office

Kirsteen Coupar, Director of Student Services

Charles Egbu, Dean of Built Environment & Architecture

Janet Jones, Dean of Arts & Creative Industries,

Raymond Lee, Dean of Applied Sciences

David Mba, Dean of Engineering

Mike Molan, Pro Vice Chancellor (Enhancement), Dean of Business

Shushma Patel, Director of Education and Student Experience, Engineering

Lesley Roberts, Head of Skills for Learning

Warren Turner, Dean PVC Health & Social Care

With: Michael Broadway, Deputy University Secretary

Apologies: David Phoenix (Vice Chancellor), Paul Ivey, Gurpreet Jagpal.