



Board of Governors and Academic Board joint strategy day

9.45am for 10.00 am - 4.00 pm on Wednesday, 26 April 2017 in Oxford Circus Room, H10

PROGRAMME

Theme – Student experience and Diversification opportunities

Time	Topic Tea and coffee	Presenter/s
	Joint session on the student experience	
	Board of Governors and the Academic Board	
	Welcome	
1.	External policy environment	DP
	opportunities and threatsdiscussion	
2.	The student experience in Higher Education	SW
	• discussion	
	Tea and coffee	
3.	Apprenticeships	MS
	 the experience of part time and work-based students discussion Lunch	
	Session for the Board of Governors	
4.	Financial overview	RF
	 questions/discussion 	
5.	Tea Creating a family of educational institutions	DP
	shape and governance arrangementsdiscussion	
	Conclusions Close	

No. Item Pages Presenter

Date of next meeting Board of Governors - 4.00 pm on Thursday, 18 May 2017

Board of Governors:

Jerry Cope (Chair), Andrew Owen (Vice-Chair), David Phoenix, Steve Balmont, Shachi Blakemore, Michael Cutbill, Douglas Denham St Pinnock, Neil Gorman, Carol Hui, Hilary McCallion, Kevin McGrath, Mee Ling Ng, Jenny Owen, Tony Roberts and Calvin Usuanlele

Members of the Executive:

Pat Bailey, Deputy Vice Chancellor

Mandy Eddolls, Executive Director of Organisational Development and Human Resource

Richard Flatman, Chief Finance Officer

Paul Ivey, Pro Vice Chancellor (Research and External Engagement)

Ian Mehrtens, Chief Operating Officer

James Stevenson, University Secretary & Clerk to the Board of Governors Shân Wareing, Pro Vice Chancellor, Education and Student Experience

Apologies: T

Temi Ahmadu and Pat Bailey

With:

Michael Broadway, Joe Kelly and Mike Simmons

Additional

members of the Academic Board:

lan Albery, Acting Dean of Applied Sciences, Stephen Barber, Reader and Programme Manager, Business, Craig Barker, Dean of Law & Social Science, Janet Bohrer, Director of Academic Quality Development Office, Kirsteen Coupar, Director of Student Services, Charles Egbu, Dean of Built Environment & Architecture, Gurpreet Jagpal, Director of Enterprise, Janet Jones, Dean of Arts & Creative Industries, David Mba, Dean of Engineering, , Lesley Roberts, Head of Skills for Learning, Warren Turner, Dean PVC

Health & Social Care

Apologies:

Sodiq Akinbade, SU

Charles Egbu, Dean of Built Environment & Architecture

Mike Molan, Pro Vice Chancellor (Enhancement), Dean of Business

Shushma Patel, Director of Education and Student Experience, Engineering