London South Bank

University

Minutes of a Meeting of the Appointments Committee held at 4pm on 1 May 2012 in Room 1B16, Technopark, London Road, London SE1

Present

Mr D Longbottom Chairman

Mr S Balmont (via conference call)
Mr D Denham St Pinnock (via conference call)

Mr K Dytor

Sir David Melville Ms A Montgomery

Rev Dame Sarah Mullally

Ms D Parker

In attendance

Prof M Earwicker Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive

Mr J Stevenson University Secretary and Clerk to the Board of Governors

Mr M Broadway Governance Officer

Apologies

1. Apologies had been received from Mr A Owen, Ms M Semple and Mr C Swinson.

Nomination of Independent Governor

- 2. The committee considered the recommendation of the Nominations Committee to appoint James Smith as an Independent Governor of the University.
- 3. The Nominations Committee considered that Mr Smith's skills and experience complemented those of the Board. It was noted that he had considerable board experience and was enthusiastic about the University and its values.
- 4. The committee approved the appointment of James Smith with immediate effect.

Composition of the Board

5. The committee discussed the composition of the Board, the range of skills and experience needed and the importance of diversity within the Board and the committee will have due regard to this factor for future appointments.

There being no further business, the Chairman closed the meeting.

Confirmed as a true record:
Chairman